Log in

Log in


The Alison Caird Young Leader Award

In 2020 PAVRO renamed this award in honour of Alison Caird. Alison volunteered as a member of the PAVRO Board of Directors for several years and was formally recognized for her dedication and contribution as a recipient of the Linda Buchanan Award for Administrator of the Year in 2004 and the President's Award for exemplary leadership, innovation and fundraising in 2008. To learn more about Alison visit: PAVRO In Memoriam. 

The PAVRO Young Leader Award was created to recognize and encourage excellence in the up and coming generation of leaders within the Volunteer Engagement profession. It acknowledges a professional, aged 35 years and younger (age 35 within calendar year award is presented) who is working directly in the profession and has demonstrated leadership and excellence in Volunteer Engagement either within their organization and/or accomplishments within the professional body (by certifying, volunteering, contributing articles, research or submissions to projects such as the Marilyn Mackenzie Innovation Pilots, etc.).

The successful recipient will receive a $100 credit towards PAVRO activities or events (Conference, workshop or membership) and a personal letter will be sent to the recipient’s supervisor to inform them of the award.

The winner of each year's Award will serve on the Awards Selection Committee for the following year.

The 2022 nominations open Tuesday, September 6th, close September 30th. Now closed. 

Congratulations to the 2021 recipient - Jessica Pang-Parks!

Jessica Pang-Parks is highly skilled at stewarding relationships, coaching and mentoring others, and developing and improving processes. With almost 11 years of experience as a leader of volunteers at both small and large organizations, Jessica has proven success at providing subject matter expertise and leading volunteer engagement learning experiences. 

Jessica has held Volunteer Engagement roles at many organizations including WWF - Canada, Volunteer Toronto, Heart & Stroke Foundation and currently works at Pathways to Education Canada. She also serves on the Board of PAVRO (Professional Association of Volunteer Leaders- Ontario) as our Secretary and is the Board Liaison for our Equity, Diversity and Inclusion working group among others. She’s been a leader with TAVA for many years holding many Executive positions.  

And, she shares her leadership through her blog – if you haven’t checked it out yet, you really should! She is incredibly passionate about doing good things and doing them well. 

Jessica received THREE nominations this year. From those who consider her a mentor, an advocate, and an innovator.  

Past Winners of the Young Leader Award      

Year  Name of Winner 
 2021Jessica Pang-Parks
 2020 Tessa Hettrick, CVA, CVRM
 2019 Aloha Cruz
 2018 Amy Nazarewich
 2017 Samantha Chivers
 2016 Erin Schneider
 2015 Shane Joseph
 2014 Veronica Deally
 2014 Rachel Murphy
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software